Bespoke rugs, stair runners and carpets for hotels, restaurants and private houses of distinction

Julian Davey

Directeur de la Production

Tout comme un jeune artiste, c'est assez jeune que Julian dessine et peint. Il avait pour but de poursuivre une carrière artistique mais ne savait dans quel domaine exactement. Dès ses premiers cours dans une école d'art. Il découvre son envie pour la création de textile.

Durant ses études dans le but d'obtenir son diplôme dans le textile à l'école d'art de Winchester, il cherche à se spécialiser et découvre alors sa passion pour la fabrication, le tissage des textiles. Cette alliance englobe la créativité et la technique. Il aime voir la mise en forme de la structure, le passage du papier à la matière finale.

Son premier travail a été dans une petite société appelé Roger Oates design, spécialisé dans la fabrication de moquette et passage d'escalier tissé plat, très peu connu à ce moment. La société évoluant, Julian a su développé ses connaissances dans plusieurs domaines, et devenir ainsi responsable de la production.

Quand l'occasion s'est présentée pour rejoindre Andrew Hartley et Stéphanie Tissier afin de développer la marque Hartley & Tissier, Julian a apporté son expérience dans la fabrication pour permettre une rapide et efficace mise en productivité.

Bien que Julian apprécie toute les facettes de son travail, sa plus grande fierté est de continuer à s'impliquer dans le développement du tissage traditionnel.

Julian Davey

HARTLEY & TISSIER LTD

24 Knightsbridge Business Centre
Knightsbridge
Cheltenham GL51 9TA
Tel 0044 1242 680 346
Fax 0044 1242 681 043
sales@hartleytissier.com

HARTLEYS OF PARIS

87 rue de Monceau
75008 Paris
France
Tel 00 33153 040686
paris@hartleytissier.com

HARTLEY SWITZERLAND

Rue Simplon 8,
1920 Martigny
Switzerland
Tel 0041 77 980 83 43
josephine@hartleytissier.com

HÔTEL & INFORMATION POUR COMMERÇANTS

Contactez Andrew Hartley

REVENDEURS

Cliquez ici.

SOCIAL

pinterestinstagram

SIGN UP TO OUR NEWSLETTER

JULIAN DAVEY

Production Director

WEAVING IN THE WOW FACTOR

As a keen artist who drew and painted avidly from a young age, Julian always knew he wanted to pursue art as a career but didn't know exactly what form this would take. That was until he took a foundation course at art school and became fascinated by textile design.

While studying for a textiles degree at Winchester School of Art, he refined his specialism further when he discovered a love of weaving. The discipline satisfied both his creative and mathematical skills and he admired how the design was integrated into the structure of the material rather than carried on its surface.

His first design job after graduation was with a small British firm, Roger Oates Design, that specialised in flatweave carpets and floor runners – unusual at that time. As the company expanded, Julian developed his expertise in many areas, eventually becoming responsible for running production.

When the opportunity came to join forces with Andrew Hartley and Stephanie Tissier in developing the Hartley & Tissier brand, Julian was able to use his design and production experience to ensure the creative and manufacturing processes dovetailed well and produced superb results.

Although Julian enjoys almost every facet of the business, he says his biggest thrill and source of pride comes from being involved with a traditionally woven product that, even after working with it closely for twenty-five years, is essentially beautiful and continues to wow people who see it for the first time.